30 Day Book Challenge – Day 25

-DAY 25-

The character you most relate to.

Image

Maybe this is cheating because Girl, Interrupted is more of a memoir, but it was the only “character” that I felt I related to.

Girl, Interrupted is the memoir of Susanna Kaysen, a young woman who goes to a mental hospital for a couple of years.

I should start off by saying that I have never been to a mental hospital, but both I and the author of this book suffer from a mental disorder called Borderline Personality Disorder. In addition to that, I have other mental illnesses, but it was the way she wrote the book and her experiences while at that hospital that touched me. She struggles with self image. She struggles relating to the people around her. Some days, she thinks she is a lot crazier than she is, and I KNOW those feelings. I know those struggles despite having very different circumstances.

So while it may be a ‘cop out’ since I’ve chosen  a real person and not just a character, Susanna Kaysen was the only person that came to mind.

Also, the movie is different from the book in a lot of ways. Good movie, poignant book.

Leave a Reply

