30 Day Book Challenge – Day 26

-DAY 26-

A book that changed your opinion on something.

Image

This was required reading in English class in high school, but I can’t remember which grade. For those of you that haven’t read it, it is actually a very political book. Animal Farm is banned in many countries because of the message behind it.

The reason I chose this book for today is because most of my adolescence and teen years in general, I was the kid that didn’t want to fit the mold, but felt like I had to be shoved into the mold and locked in and conform. I had (have) a religious family, live in the South (some of you southerners will know why this is worth mentioning), and I desired more.

This book, in an nutshell, is about overthrowing a leader when oppressed. It taught me that it actually isn’t okay to let people in authority trample all over you and oppress you. It taught me that breaking free of the mold is worth fighting for, and I attribute many of my current personality traits to what this book showed to me.

Was it violent? Yes, but it served as a much needed wake up call to a younger me that I didn’t have to conform. I could be my own person. I could be whatever I wanted to be and if someone wanted to take away those freedoms, I have the right to stand up for myself. I would never kill anyone, but I am quick to take up for myself now, which is something I never used to do.

Thank you, George Orwell.

Leave a Reply

