Obligatory Angry Election Post

(Posted this originally on Facebook.)
I’m going to be deactivating my Facebook for awhile. I am sick to death, refuse to have people belittle MY opinion while fiercely defending the opposition. No one has to conform to my view of the world, but this goes deeper for me.
 
Last night, I felt our country go back fifty years. So much can go wrong in a Trump presidency and while I am no Hillary fan and feel like our Democracy failed us with these two candidates, I also fear something I have never felt during an election before: fear.
 
Everyone patting themselves on the back for voting Trump do not seem to understand everything he stands for.
 
Speaking for my community (LGBT), I have already seen so many people on Facebook today that have said “Just when has Trump said anything negative about gay people?” Then when presented with anything that has ACTUAL QUOTES FROM TRUMP, they immediately dismiss it as ‘unreliable’.
 
I cannot do this. I always thought I would be one of those people that could just sit back and say, maybe he’ll be gone in four years. But the problem is that I feel like four years under him is too long. My community has made great strides toward equality, and Trump’s VP pick is vehemently Anti-LGBT. He believes in conversion therapy. He wants to overturn marriage equality in the states. Just google it and see for yourselves.
 
I cannot even bring myself to talk to some of the people I love dearly today because I know they voted Trump. I feel terrible about it, but they voted for a man that is against my community, brags about sexually assaulting women, and is a terrible person in general. I cannot bring myself to have conversations with people I love because I feel like they voted against MY COMMUNITY’S struggle for equality, they voted FOR misogyny, and they voted fear into the households of people that under our constitution have freedom of religion and fear into the households of LEGAL immigrants.
 
This is a slap in the face to me by people that I respect, and therein lies the problem. How can someone truly be a friend to me as a woman in a lesbian marriage, yet vote for someone as repugnant as Trump? How can anyone look me in the eye or talk to me, claim to be a straight ally or a supporter of women’s rights yet vote for that horrible person?
 
The honest answer is people are disillusioned. Those that are more socially progressive will pat themselves on the back because they are a straight ally or for women’s rights. They want to have their cake and eat it too. Claim to support their female, Muslim, immigrant, LGBT friends, but vote against their best interests. It breaks my fucking heart into a million tiny pieces.
 
Some of you will look at this as a shot at you, to which I say, this is not about you or anyone specific. It is for those people that smile and nod when you ask for their support yet vote someone into office that means the absolute worst for that group’s rights as both friends and American citizens.
 
So there is what I have to say. I have no interest in turning this into a debate, so while you may say what you like, I will not be responding. The moment he got voted into office was the moment I realized that I may not have as many friends as I once thought I did.
Leave a Reply

